July 1st, 2020: A Round-Up Of Today’s News…

Credit: MMA Junkie

Have you missed today’s news? Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered.

Rozenstruik hopeful of a rematch with Francis Ngannou:

Going into UFC 249, Rozenstruik was undefeated at 10:0 and was very optimistic with his upcoming fight with Francis Ngannou. He had the nerve to call out Francis and believed he could beat him.

Unfortunately, Ngannou handed Rozenstruik the first professional defeat of his career. Rather than moving on and attempting to get himself back in the mix, Jairzinho wants to run it back.

Speaking to MMA Junkie, Rozenstruik said: “We knew it was a big fight, a big challenge. And it didn’t go my way, but my dream is still alive. I hope he becomes champion. If you ask me to fight him tomorrow, I’d fight him again. I train to fight him again. Respect, it’s all business. I wish him luck, and hopefully I see him around.”

But before Jairzinho gets his rematch, he’ll have to get through Junior dos Santos. The pair are expected to face each other at UFC 252 in August.

“No disrespect to Junior, he’s a nice guy. We train at the same gym, and every time I see him he’s always nice. He’s always a good guy, but at the end of the day, it’s going to be business that we have to settle. So I mean, if I get the opportunity, I take it.”

You’ve got to respect Rozenstruik. He’s eager to get back in the cage and eventually avenge his defeat to Francis Ngannou.

How do you assess Rozenstruik’s chances if they clash again?

Tony Ferguson or Charles Oliveira? Hooker has his say:

After his defeat to Dustin Poirier, Dan Hooker has had his say on who he wants to fight next. Even though he lost to “The Diamond,” you’ve got to respect Hooker for his heart and the determination he showed in the fight with Poirier.

Hooker is hoping for a quick turnaround. The New Zealander doesn’t want to sit on the sidelines waiting for what’s next.

Speaking to Submission Radio, Hooker said: “They shuffled the rankings around a little bit. Felder dropped below Oliveira, and Dustin moved above Tony, so, it’s interesting times. So, obviously the two fights that make the most sense is Dustin verses Tony, and then me verses Oliveira. If Dustin wants to sit the rest of the year out and Tony wants to fight, well then I’m the next logical fight for Tony. So, I want to get back in there before the end of the year for sure.”

The lightweight division is stacked with pure talent Hooker isn’t short of options. Hooker is currently ranked fifth in the division, and he certainly deserves another big fight next.

“But then Oliveira, he’s getting carried away calling out Poirier and calling out Conor, and he’s beating around the bush, trying to say anyone except me or Tony. He’s a funny guy. But yeah, I’ll have to wait and see, because obviously Tony makes way more sense for me. But if I have to go back and then solidify my place in the top five, I’m happy to do that. I just want to fight and I want to fight before the end of the year, and either of those two names makes sense for me.”

When you look at it on paper, besides Khabib and Gaethje, everyone else in the division is free to fight.

Who do you want to see Hooker fight next?

Kevin Syler set to face Kenny Cross on DWCS:

Pending finalisation, the pair are expected to fight each other on August 4th.

Syler was given the chance to fight in the UFC by competing on the DWCS. Syler defeated Lance Lawrence via a decision. However, because Syler missed weight heavily, Dana White rejected the chance to sign him up.

Since his move up to 155, Syler has been on a roll. Cross is on a four-fight winning streak and has won seven of his last eight fights. Cross is always looking for the finish, therefore, this matchup will certainly please many across the MMA Community.

Should the fight go through, who have you got for this one?

That wraps up today’s news. Leave your thoughts down below.


Remember to follow me on Twitter: @UFCDeluxe

Leave a comment